Being Grateful

Grand Teton National Park

Being grateful is a powerful promoter of good health – not only of body, but of mind and spirit.  This is a choice of course.  For life can often punch us in the face, stomp on our heads, then stand back and ask us, “What are you going to do now?”  We can moan and be sorry for our circumstances, or be grateful for any good in the midst of our mess.  Also, how are we going to deal with life’s messes.  I choose to hand my disasters over to my Heavenly Father, and let him handle them.

Like this week.  On Sunday I could not have imagined the trouble I’d find myself  in on Tuesday.  Several medical problems punched me in the face, and required being in the hospital until today [Friday].   Then having to make decisions about all this stuff stomped all over my head.  But I have approached all of this by handing it over to my Father, and being grateful for the good I’ve found and experienced. 

All the doctors and hospital staff were so very kind to me during my stay.  It was humbling to be weak and needing help with much, and having others take care of me so nicely.  And needing to wear adult diapers and having another adult change them was a major humiliation.  But the compassion with which others helped me made me almost want to cry.

I choose to be grateful and say thank you to God, and the kind people He uses, to make my journey through  life’s messes a bit easier.  I hope you will practice gratitude too.

That’s all for now.  See you next time.

Copyright © 2013 Regina Spence

Leave a Reply

