What I’ve Learned, Part 4

My new Urban Rebounder

My new Urban Rebounder

  • Anyone living with nerve-related diseases [like MS] should try to avoid refined foods, like white or enriched flour foods [and refined sugars like white or high fructose corn syrup].   These items, and foods made from them, are missing many nutrients – especially vitamin B-1 [thiamine].  Thiamine nourishes the nerves. 

  • Whenever I eat white flour or enriched flour foods, I get weakness in all my muscles; my fingers don’t grasp or pick up very well, and at times my speech becomes slurred.  And once, after a dish of yummy ravioli, my facial muscles became very twisted.  Scary!  These symptoms quickly go away when I eat some fruits or vegetables.

  • MS folks should eat a low fat diet, because fat causes decreased oxygen levels, and makes blood cells stick together.  *Low fat is also good for the heart and blood vessels.

  • Sip warm water [2 glasses] first thing in the morning, and throughout the day.  Warm water quickly gets into the blood to help it flow better, and help keep cells from sticking.  When I do this, I can almost ‘hear my body say, “Thank you!”  ‘

  • Getting good health should be simple, make sense, and be affordable to all.  Not complicated and expensive.

  • One way to improve energy is to drink more water and do more exercise.  Simple.

  • In my opinion, the best exercises, if able, are rebounding, biking, swimming, and squats.  They are so strengthening for body, mind, and spirit, and so energizing.  *All action helps to build stronger nerve cells.

  • I recently got a new rebounder – for bouncing on.  I also have a stabilizing bar on mine, because of poor balance.  I love this equipment.  It’s my 3rd one.  Here are a few of its benefits:  makes me smile while bouncing; thinking becomes clearer; improves my energy, balance, and muscle and bone strength; makes me sleep better; improves the immune systems; and improves the drainage of my lymphatic system. 

    • The lymphatic system is made up of lymph, lymph nodes, lymphatic vessels [for transportation], and organs – like tonsils, the thymus gland, and the spleen.  It works with our immune system to protect the body.  It’s like an internal vacuum cleaner that sucks up garbage, toxins, wastes, excess fluid, infection and more.  Sluggish lymphatic systems cause the lymph to become thick and cause problems like insomnia, muscle spasms [for me], diseases, and infections.  Rebounding [and other vigorous exercises] stimulates drainage of the lymphatic system.

  • MS or any disease is a loss of health.  Losing anything makes us grieve that loss – whether it be keys, limbs, jobs, a loved one, etc.  As a result we will go through the stages of grieving: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.  We may go back and forth through the stages, but work at getting to acceptance.  Try not to get stuck in the first three stages.  For some this may require professional counseling.  Don’t be ashamed or afraid of getting help.  I had to because of emotional issues from childhood and issues in dealing with MS.  It really helped me.

To be Continued in Part 2 …

Copyright © 2013 Regina Spence

Leave a Reply

