Happy Anniversary, Kiddo!

MP900341659

 

This month makes 29 years that I am living with Multiple Sclerosis.  I’m happy to still be fairly independent, even though I do use a walker and a scooter, and my husband helps me a lot.  I’ve seen how much this disease can take from people, and I could be worse.  But I’m so absolutely grateful for what I can still do. 

I owe these blessings to God – Who strengthens me; my Mom – for a fighting attitude; my hubby who is so kind and helpful;-family and friends for their support, encouragement ,and laughter; and eating a healthy diet [sometimes I mess-up]; and exercising regularly .  For me [and you too], a healthy diet is tremendous in helping to prevent and deal with the symptoms and complications of this disease!

My body [yours too] is like a nice car or truck.  The fuel that goes in the tank matters a lot.  Apple juice and soda are cheaper than gas, but I wouldn’t dare pour those beverages in my tank.  But the years before I got MS I was dumping into my ‘tank’ [body] junk foods, Pepsi, frozen dinners, sugar-loaded foods, and fast foods.  And even though I was doing aerobics twice a day, jogging, swimming, and bike riding, I see where that ‘fuel’ got me.  But thankfully some kind people shared what they had learned. 

Over the years I was blessed to meet people who showed me the value of right food choices; that what I put in my body would lead to wellness or sickness.  It would also affect how I felt, thought, and moved.  And I’m forever grateful to the lady who introduced me to gluten-free eating [I’m sensitive].

So for all these 29 years I’ve not taken any of the MS drugs – I didn’t want any more problems from side-effects of those drugs.  And I treat my symptoms mostly with right lifestyle choices like a vegetarian diet [working on vegan], regular exercise, drinking more water, getting fresh air and moderate sunlight, getting good rest at night [to bed before 12am], avoiding the bad things my body’ doesn’t need [still struggling with that], and trusting God for help and strength.       *These choices are all part of the 8 Laws of Health.  We will go over each one in detail at Principle of Health #7.

I do take 5mg of Baclofen at bedtime for muscle spasms.  And won’t hesitate to ask my neurologist for Prednisone [steroid] if my symptoms get too bad, or I feel a relapse coming on.  It helps perk me up.

 

Now, for a few more MS tips:

  • Some things are outside of our control.  But even with MS, there are things we can do to help reduce our symptoms and complications, and improve our quality of living.  Like healthier choices. 

  • It’s not enough to take drugs for MS or its complications.  We must deal with the cause of the problem.  Take a good look at how we lived pre-MS.  Some things were not done right.  We need to correct them, or we will never improve.

  • I don’t think a wrong diet is the only thing that leads to MS.  But it is critical. Good food choices feed the cells, helping them to function properly.  Wrong food choices don’t nourish cells, which leads to their malfunctioning and disease.

  • There are wonderful benefits for making better choices to live with MS.   But those choices will also help reduce risks for getting cancer, diabetes, high blood pressure, stroke, heart attack, and more.  Not bad.

  • And when we are working at improving our health, we can gently help our loved ones adopt some of those choices.  It will help improve their health and prevent other diseases too.

  • Not helpful to us are saturated fats [from animal products], dairy, foods made from white flour [weakens hands and muscles], sugar, high fructose corn syrup, flavor enhancers like monosodium glutamate [MSG], artificial colors, flavors, sweeteners, chemicals, preservatives, and other man-made things.

  • Helpful to us are fresh vegetable or fruit juices and eating simply prepared plant-based foods.  They feed the cells so they can function properly.  

  • Eat a few dates each day for a sweet boost of energy.  They are also full of vitamins and minerals that feed the body  [especially B vitamins for nerves ].   *Diabetics don’t eat too many.  And watch out for pits.

  • I get foggy brain a lot, but listening  to classical music helps me focus, concentrate, and get many things done.  Researchers believe that this music does not disrupt natural body rhythms [some music does], but works in-tune with them.  This increases the body’s ability to function.  I listen online at www.allclassical.org, in Portland, Oregon.

  • Never neglect exercise.  Do what is possible.  Exercise strengthens everything inside and outside the body.  I’m getting another Rebounder.  Yeah!  They give a great workout. 

That’s all for now.  Take care and see you next time.

 

Copyright © 2013 Regina Spence

Leave a Reply

