How I Deal with Fatigue, Part 1

"What was I going to do?"

“What was I going to do?

 

Years ago I didn’t understand about fatigue.  Back then I just knew there were times I didn’t have any energy or interest in doing anything.  I Just felt so utterly blah.  At those times I’d just sit and watch TV [food channel and home and garden], and eat junk food.  I didn’t realize inactivity and poor food choices was simply adding more ‘wood’ to my fire.  

But I have you readers to thank for helping me deal better with fatigue.  How?  Ralph Waldo Emerson “[19th century poet] said it well: “It is one of the beautiful compensations of life that no man can sincerely try to help another without helping himself.”  Blogging to help others is helping me on so many levels!  Looking up information reminds me of things I forgot, stopped doing for one reason or another, or didn’t pay too much attention to. 

After doing last week’s post on fatigue, I was once again alerted to what I needed to get out of the thick fog of fatigue.  I was in it deep.  Last Monday, after accidentally eating several muffins that contained gluten [I’m gluten sensitive], I had 1 ½ sleepless nights and was exhausted.  My thinking and memory were off, and doing everything – including the blog, was hard and took so long.

So, as I wrote tips for you to help your fatigue, I committed to following some of them myself.  Here is my list to feel alert, snappy, full of zip, and so on:

  1. Watch what goes in my mouth, because, by way of the stomach, it will affect the brain nerves.  And the brain controls the whole body through those nerves.   Avoid or reduce white flour foods; sugars; refined foods; additives; preservatives; artificial flavors, colors, and sweeteners; chemicals; caffeine; guarana [in energy drinks and has much caffeine];and more.  These items take from the body.  Anyone with nerve problems cannot afford to consume items that steal from what the body needs.

  2. I’m drinking more water to help keep my blood flowing smoothly and rinse out toxins and wastes.  Blood without enough water [dehydrated] runs slow and thick like motor oil, instead of like a fast-moving stream.  Thick blood can cause high blood pressure and make us feel sluggish, because oxygen, nourishment, and wastes are not getting where they need to go fast enough.  And well-watered [hydrated] muscles move better and faster.

  3. I ordered 2 quarts of Aloe Vera Juice from [online] Forever Living Products, plus a tube of their Aloe Vera Gelly [under Skin Care – Body].  When they come, I’ll add the aloe juice to some orange juice and drink several times a day.  Aloe is very healing for internal problems, plus it cleanses the blood and the liver, and is very energizing [take small samples to make sure you are not allergic].  The Gelly is used for minor rashes, bites, and burns.  It’s good to keep in every medicine cabinet and first aid kit.  *I used to drink this juice regularly from 1984 to 1993.  And for a while I made my own juice from the gelly in the aloe leaves.

To Be continued …

Copyright© 2013 Regina Spence

Leave a Reply

