Tips, Bits, and Pieces

???????????????????

It’s been a while since we finished Principle of Health #1.  Before going on to Principle #2, I’d like to share a few more things that I’ve learned in almost 29 years of living with MS. 

  • Eating regularly matters.  I need to eat every 4 to 5 hours, or my muscles get weak and spasm.  Possibly from my blood sugar dropping after 4 hours.

  • Fellowship is powerful.  I’m noticing that whenever I spend enjoyable time with my family, friends, or church family that I always sleep really well with few or no muscle spasms.  Experts say that laughter releases endorphins – “the feel good” hormones [so do exercise, singing, and other things we enjoy].  So, I’m guessing that the good times I had talking, laughing, eating yummy food, and even playing games, caused my endorphins to be released.  Then they relaxed my nerves and muscles so much that I was able to sleep well.  Has anyone else had this experience?

  • People need people.  We are social beings and are meant to be around and share with each other.  Whether we share a cause, a conversation, or good food.  Being alone happens,  but it’s not good, normal, or healthy to remain that way.  It’s also true that sometimes we get cut-off by others or left out from what others are doing.  That hurts.  I learned that many, many years ago.  I wondered why I wasn’t invited to the homes of people in my circle of association.  Others were.  I asked a friend about it.  She said, that because of MS, people perceived me as being needy [I wasn’t even using a cane back then].  Wow!   Has anyone else heard that before?

After getting over that shock, I decided to invite people home for lunch even though I wasn’t a good cook.  These were nice folks who were also left out, and we had wonderful times.  Then I once heard someone, in a MS support group, say that no one ever sent him holiday cards.  That inspired me not wait for anyone to call, send me cards, or be friendly.  My thing is: Don’t wait for others to do for you.  You reach out.  Do it nicely because someone might need it.  And don’t expect anything in return.  It’s so much fun!

  • Drinking flaxseed water is awesome.  It helps improve my elimination, steadiness, dark circles around my eyes, puffiness under eyes, and any joint or ankle pains.  How to make it?  In a coffee grinder or blender, grind brown or gold flaxseeds into a fine meal [I use brown].  Then put 1 tablespoon into a cup of hot water.  Let it sit for 10 to 15 minutes [it will get thick].  Then stir and drink.  Flaxseeds are tiny seeds that are rich in fiber and omega-3 essential fatty acids – needed by the brain and every body cell.  They are also a good source of B vitamins [needed by nerves], iron, calcium, protein, and zinc.  Flaxseeds reduce inflammation [which increases my MS symptoms], pain, swelling from arthritis, blood pressure, and blood cholesterol; they improve the bones, nails, hair, and skin; and reduce chances for blood clots and tumors.  Can use ground seeds on cereals, salads, soups, and in baking [muffins, pancakes, etc.].  Or drink the water.  Can also use flaxseed oil [not for cooking].  Take 1 tablespoon daily in juice or by itself.  All with MS should be taking some daily supplement for essential fatty acids.  Either from flaxseeds, flaxseed oil, Primrose Oil, Grape Seed Oil, or other oil.  *Refrigerate leftover ground flaxseeds in tightly covered container.

  • Drinking Pau D’Arco [Taheebo] herbal tea is also very helpful.  I put 2 tea bags in a cup of hot water, let it sit for 5 minutes, then remove bags, stir, and drink.  It helps me sleep well with few of no muscle spasms.  It is also a blood cleanser; reduces inflammation; inhibits tumor growth; and fights bacteria, viruses, and parasites.

 

That’s all for now.  Hope this helps.  See you next time.

 

Copyright © 2013 Regina Spence

Leave a Reply

