About Disease, Part 2

Every action has a reaction

Every action has a reaction

The Immune System is our body’s incredible defense system.  It is made up of various glands, organs, the bone marrow, and highly trained and specialized cells.  Its job is to protect us from disease.  But it can be weakened or strengthened.

A few ways we can weaken our immune systems include: not enough of what cells really need [fresh air, proper nourishment, water, and rapid waste removal]; being overly tired or exhausted; too much negative stress; chemical abuses; too much sugar and saturated fat; a negative attitude; not forgiving others; too little exercise, and more. 

A few ways we can strengthen the immune system:  cool showers or baths; little or no sugar or saturated fats [mostly in animal products]; a balanced plant-based diet; drinking enough plain water; getting lots of fresh air; going to bed before midnight and getting 7-8 hours of sleep; and regular exercise – a powerful strengthener [30 minutes a day for 3-5 days each week], helping others, and more. 

What I’ve Learned: 

  • Every type of uncleanliness can pave the way for disease.  So, keep things clean:

    1. Our skin – bathe regularly to wash off poisons excreted by the skin.

    2. Our clothes – which absorb poisons excreted by skin pores.

    3. Our homes – especially keep the kitchen and bathrooms clean.  Keep the home free from garbage piling up.  Also avoid damp, dark places where germs, molds, and mildew love to grow.  Remove animal waste from the home regularly.

    4. Outside the home – no garbage or decaying anything should be near the house, where the foul smells could be breathed in.

  • Cool showers or baths improve my muscle flexibility and movement, and sharpen my thinking!  Cool allows nerve transmissions to travel faster to the brain and muscles.  Hot temperatures [from climate or fever] slows down nerve transmissions, so I move like a slug.

  • Any regular movement helps improve the function of the nervous system.  I’m moving, and I hope you are too.

  • Moving the body or parts of the body helps me [and probably you too].  For three mornings I’ve been walking, with my walker, up and down the driveway for 20 minutes.  Then after dinner I try to use the elliptical machine for 3 minutes.  And before bedtime I try to do 50 squats in 5 sets of 10 – resting between sets.  I skipped the squats last night, but noticed my muscle strength and balance had increased over what they were last week.  It felt great!  I’m good at putting off exercising.  But now I’m pushing myself because I so want to improve.  It’s possible, because the body responds to the good we do to it.  And daily use of all the Laws of Health works [proper nutrition, exercise, water, sunlight, fresh air, rest, self-control, and trust in Divine power].  I believe this and have seen it!  **We will go over these laws in detail in upcoming Posts. 

  • Years ago, when I first got MS, a friend of my Mother told me this:  “People are going to watch you and see how you deal with this.”  Every day I keep this in mind when I’m at home, go out with my husband, or interact with strangers.  I don’t know what this might mean to you, but for me, I want to be a good ‘ambassador’ for disabled people.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Take good care of yourselves, and see you next week for Autointoxication.

 

Copyright © 2013 Regina Spence

 

 

Leave a Reply

