What I’ve Learned

What I’ve Learned

20130218103302_00005A

Barbados

I’ve been living with MS for almost 29 years and have learned a lot. For this Post I’ll be sharing a few of those things. Hopefully they will help someone else.

  • Disease is not normal, but the body’s attempt to clean out toxins, and repair and rebuild damaged areas. We need to help it do its healing work by giving it rest, water, fresh air, natural fruits and vegetables, whole grains, nuts, seeds, and beans, and more.   **See Cells Matter and The Body Can Heal Itself for more details on helping the body heal.

  • Every day our choices are moving us closer to improved health, or toward sickness and disease.

  • Everything matters.  Every action has a reaction.  Like what we choose to eat and drink; how much sleep we get; our thoughts and attitudes; how we treat other people; and even how we treat animals and nature. They all affect body chemistry and move us toward good health or sickness.

  • MS brings losses. But in every sadness or loss there are lessons and blessings. Look for the lessons and learn them. Search for the blessings and embrace them.

  • The mind and body are closely connected. Our thoughts, feelings, words, and attitudes all have incredible effects on body chemistry, and our ability to get and stay well.

  • Hippocrates, called the father of Western Medicine, said, “Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food”. I use healthy foods to control my MS issues* – except when symptoms get bad.   Then I will ask the doctor for whatever drug will help fix the problem. But for preventing illness and improving energy and health, foods work for me. And their side effects are not harmful.  *I do take 5mg of Baclofen at bedtime to reduce muscle spasms.

  • What we eat and drink not only affects how we feel, but our thoughts, attitudes, and behaviours.

  • I sleep better [with fewer muscle spasms] when I eat more vegetables with dinner. Like kale, collard greens, carrots, tomato-basil pasta sauce, and more.

  • Supplements may be needed at times. But it’s better to get vitamins, minerals, fiber, and other beneficial elements in their natural food form – the way nature made them. This way you get the right amounts that your body needs.

  • For improved energy I drink more water; have a big breakfast; get more exercise and fresh air; eat more fresh fruits [especially blue and strawberries], vegetables, and nuts [like almonds, walnuts, pecans, Brazil Nuts]; and use less sugar, white flour products, and caffeine.

  • Avoid chemicals in foods and beverages as much as possible. Man-made chemicals cannot help the body. Eat whole, natural foods. Prepare them simply, but make sure they also look and taste good. They contain elements that protect our bodies from disease, and if needed, help them heal.

  • Avoid artificial flavors, colors, and sweeteners when possible. Artificial means not real; it’s made by man. Our bodies have real live cells that need real food. When I eat any of these by accident, I get muscle spasms.

  • My left pointer finger bends over at times and won’t straighten up, and I also get pins and needles sensation in my fingertips. I get both after eating foods with too much sugar or made from white or enriched flour [like biscuits, bagels, crackers, cookies, donuts, and more]. But when I eat some fresh fruits or vegetables – especially apples, greens, sweet potatoes, and more, that finger straightens up and the pins and needles go away.

  • Having something useful to do each day is critical to our mind and body. It gives us purpose and takes our attention off of poor me or why me.

  • Helping others is powerful!  When we go to help someone else, without looking for anything in return, we will always be helped and receive a blessing!  And the endorphins that are released give great joy, help improve our health, and help us to heal.

  • It used to bother me when people or kids stared at me. But one day I started smiling and waving at them. Some still stared, but I always felt better. And the kids usually waved back.

  • Exercise is an absolute must for anyone, but especially for those with MS.  What we don’t use, we will lose.

  • Cool or cold water hitting the skin [in bath or shower], helps spastic muscles to relax and be more flexible; strengthens the immune system; improves circulation; calms the nerves, and energizes mind and body.  Start out with warm water and gradually go to cooler water.  It feels great!

That’s all for now.  Let me know if you have any questions?  See you next time.

Copyright © 2013 Regina Spence

One thought on “What I’ve Learned

Leave a Reply

